logo

Milo Rau / IIPM – International Institute of Political Murder
General Assembly | Generalversammlung | Assemblée générale

Despite worldwide economic and political implications, there are neither effective legal institutions nor sufficient democratic structures on a global level to adequately regulate the world market, prosecute violations of international law, enforce human rights or direct ecological developments into the right channels. The “General Assembly”, which is being held for the first time from November 3-5 2017 in Berlin, is filling this gap with its concept of an actual world parliament.

With “The General Assembly”, Milo Rau and the International Institute of Political Murder complete their work on the matter of the political and artistic conditions of global realism. From November 3-5 2017, 60 delegates of the General Assembly from all over the world will gather in the capital with the intention of challenging the newly elected German parliament – representative of all those who are affected by German policy but who lack a political voice.

From the labor and feminist movement to Occupy Wall Street to current populism, the demand for adequate representation is constitutive of almost all political movements. This refers to its pivotal but always precarious status in any democracy: who is represented in the political sphere – and who isn’t? When the assembly of the Third Estate declared itself the “Assemblée Nationale Constituante” in 1789, it was a revolution. But what would this General Assembly be today, in the age of globalization – and who would be part of the “Third Estate”? While Europe and the US are debating the modernization losers and underdogs, the proletariat and the shift to the right in their own countries, the General Assembly goes one step further with regard to the global reality of politics and economy, giving a voice to those who are underrepresented, who are not heard, the global Third Estate: labor immigrants, children and future generations, war victims, textile workers, miners, farmers, economic and climate refugees, the victims of the dawning ecocide, the oceans, the atmosphere, animals and plants.

In five plenary sessions, the representatives of the General Assembly will debate on where we stand as a global community and what needs to be done – socially, ecologically, technologically, politically. What does political sovereignty mean in the age of globalization? How do the interests of the world’s population relate to the democratic principles of the national states? Whose demands for independence, dignity, and happiness can become the demands of all mankind? A local parliament will be replaced by a global parliament, which will urge the members of the newly elected German government to join them.

The first world parliament in the history of mankind, which will be accompanied by a group of international political observers, will conclude with the passing of the “Charter for the 21st Century” and the “storming of the Reichstag” on November 7, precisely one hundred years after the “Storming of the Winter Palace”.

Wednesday, 01.11.2017

"What is global realism?"
8pm, Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz

What are the duties and boundaries of a world parliament in the age of global capitalism, climate change and mass migration? Director Milo Rau and sociologist Harald Welzer discuss social and political justice in the 21st century. Moderation: Doris Akrap

Friday to Sunday, 03 ‑ 05/11/2017

“General Assembly“
Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz

Friday, 3.11.
7-9pm Constitutive Session

Saturday, 4.11.
10am-1pm First Plenary Session:
Diplomatic Relations, Sanctions and Wars

1.30-4.30pm Second Plenary Session:
The Regulation of Global Economy

5-8pm Third Plenary Session:
Migration and Border Regime

Sunday, 5.11.
10am-1pm Fourth Plenary Session:
Cultural Global Commons

1.30-4.30pm Fifth Plenary Session:
Natural Global Commons

5-7pm Closing Session

Tuesday, 7 November 2017

"Storming of the Reichstag"
3pm, lawn in front of the Reichstag building, Heinrich-von-Gagern-Straße

Precisely one hundred years after the legendary “Storming of the Winter Palace”, the newly elected German parliament will be confronted symbolically: What are the demands of the global Third Estate? Who is missing in the Reichstag, where international political decisions have been made by the German parliament since 1999? A reenactment of the historical storming of the Winter Palace in St. Petersburg in 1917 will take place: one of the most influential images in the history of humankind, signifying the beginning of the most momentous revolution of modernity. Let us storm the Reichstag together! Let us create a new, forward-looking symbol of global democracy and international solidarity in the 21st century!

Concept and Director: Milo Rau, Dramaturgy and Research: Eva-Maria Bertschy, Stage and Costume Design: Anton Lukas, Dramaturgic Advisers: Stefan Bläske, Carmen A.J. Hornbostel, Research Assistant: Kasia Wojcik, Infographique: Ole Häntzschel, Production: Mascha Euchner-Martinez, Eva-Karen Tittmann, Production Assistant: Thomas Fabian Eder, Technique: Jens Baudisch, Camera: Tilo Schneider, NN, Live-Streaming: Can Elbasi, Public Relations: Yven Augustin, Social Media: Luise Müller-Hofstede and Karolin Langfeldt (fromberlinto), Film “Storming of the Reichstag“: Patricia Corniciuc, Organisation and mobilisation: Daniel Knopp and Jule Ulbricht, Simultaneous Translation: Civit‘ Dolmetschen + Übersetzen, Translation: Jen Whigham Directors Assistant: Bastian Kirfel, Dramaturgy Assistant: Nicolai Morawitz

Supported by

Media partner

General Assembly | Generalversammlung | Assemblée générale
Milo Rau / IIPM – International Institute of Political Murder

General Assembly | Generalversammlung | Assemblée générale

3. bis 5. November 2017, Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz Berlin
mit einer Live-Übertragung in das Théâtre Nanterre-Amandiers Paris, Théâtre National Wallonie – Bruxelles, NT Gent, Thalia Theater Hamburg und an das SPIELART Festival München

Trotz weltweiter ökonomischer und politischer Verwicklungen existieren auf globaler Ebene weder wirkungsvolle rechtliche Institutionen noch ausreichende demokratische Strukturen, die den Weltmarkt hinreichend regulieren, völkerrechtliche Verstöße verfolgen, Menschenrechte durchsetzen oder ökologische Entwicklungen in sinnvolle Bahnen leiten könnten. Die General Assembly, die vom 3. bis 5. November 2017 erstmals in Berlin tagt, füllt mit ihrem Entwurf eines Weltparlaments diese Leerstelle.

Mit „General Assembly“ vollenden Milo Rau und das International Institute of Political Murder ihre Arbeit über die Frage der politischen und künstlerischen Bedingungen eines globalen Realismus. Vom 3. bis 5. November 2017 versammeln sich 60 Abgeordnete der General Assembly aus der ganzen Welt in der Bundeshauptstadt, um das neu gewählte deutsche Parlament herauszufordern – repräsentativ für alle Akteurinnen und Akteure, welcher Art auch immer, die von der deutschen Politik betroffen sind, jedoch kein politisches Mitspracherecht haben.

Von der Arbeiter- und Frauenbewegung über Occupy Wallstreet bis zum gegenwärtigen Populismus ist die Forderung nach angemessener Repräsentation für fast alle politischen Bewegungen konstitutiv. Dies verweist auf ihren zentralen, aber stets prekären Status in jeder Demokratie: Wer wird repräsentiert im politischen Raum – und wer nicht? Als sich 1789 die Versammlung des Dritten Standes zur „Assemblée Nationale Constituante“ erklärte, war das eine Revolution. Was aber wäre diese Generalversammlung heute, im Zeitalter der Globalisierung – und wer der „Dritte Stand“? Während in Europa und den USA über die Modernisierungsverlierer und Abgehängten, über Proletariat und Rechtsrutsch im eigenen Land debattiert wird, geht die General Assembly in Hinblick auf die globale Realität von Politik und Ökonomie einen Schritt weiter und gibt den Unterrepräsentierten, den Nichtgehörten, dem globalen Dritten Stand eine Stimme: den Arbeitsmigranten, Kindern und Nachgeborenen, Kriegsopfern, den Textil- und Minenarbeitern, den Kleinbauern, den Wirtschafts- und Klimaflüchtlingen, den Opfern des sich anbahnenden Ökozids, den Weltmeeren, der Atmosphäre, den Nutztieren und Bäumen.

In fünf Plenarsitzungen fragen die Abgeordneten der General Assembly, wo wir als Weltgemeinschaft stehen und was zu tun ist – sozial, ökologisch, technologisch, politisch. Was bedeutet politische Souveränität im Zeitalter der Globalisierung? Wie verhalten sich die Interessen der Weltbevölkerung zu den demokratischen Prinzipien der Nationalstaaten? Wessen Forderungen nach Unabhängigkeit, Würde und Glück können zu den Forderungen der ganzen Menschheit werden? An die Stelle eines Lokalparlaments tritt ein Globalparlament, das die Mitglieder der neu gewählten deutschen Regierung auffordert, sich anzuschließen.

Das erste Weltparlament der Menschheitsgeschichte, begleitet von einer Gruppe internationaler politischer Beobachter, gipfelt in der Verabschiedung der „Charta für das 21. Jahrhundert“ und dem „Sturm auf den Reichstag“ am 7. November, genau 100 Jahre nach dem „Sturm auf den Winterpalast“.

Mittwoch, 01.11.2017

„Was ist globaler Realismus?“

20:00 Uhr, Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz

Was sind die Aufgaben und Grenzen eines Weltparlaments im Zeitalter von globalem Kapitalismus, Klimawandel und Massenmigration? Der Regisseur Milo Rau und der Soziologe Harald Welzer debattieren über soziale und politische Gerechtigkeit im 21. Jahrhundert. Moderation: Doris Akrap

Freitag bis Sonntag, 03. – 05. November 2017

„General Assembly“

Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz

Auf globaler Ebene existieren keine demokratischen Strukturen, die den Weltmarkt regulieren, völkerrechtliche Verstöße verfolgen oder ökologische Entwicklungen in sinnvolle Bahnen leiten könnten. Die General Assembly, die 60 Abgeordnete aus der ganzen Welt in Berlin versammelt, füllt mit ihrem Entwurf eines tatsächlichen Weltparlaments diese Leerstelle. Mit: Tariq Ali, Wolfgang Kaleck, Jean Ziegler, Ulrike Guérot, Can Dündar, Chantal Mouffe, Lúcio Bellentani, Christos Giovanopoulos, Hamze Bytyci, Abou Bakar Sidibé, Feri Irawan, Nasir Mansoor, Saeeda Khatoon, Juan Carlos Monedero u.v.a.

Dienstag, 07.11.2017

„Sturm auf den Reichstag“

15:00 Uhr, Wiese vor dem Reichstag, Heinrich-von-Gagern-Straße

Genau hundert Jahre nach dem legendären „Sturm auf den Winterpalast“ soll das neu gewählte deutsche Parlament symbolisch herausgefordert werden: Was sind die Forderungen des globalen Dritten Standes? Wer fehlt im Gebäude des Reichstags, in dem seit 1999 das deutsche Parlament internationale Politik macht? Vor dem Reichstagsgebäude erfolgt ein Reenactment des historischen Sturms auf den St. Petersburger Winterpalast von 1917: eines der wirkungsmächtigsten Bilder der Menschheitsgeschichte, das am Ursprung der größten Revolution der Moderne steht. Stürmen wir gemeinsam auf den Reichstag! Schaffen wir ein neues, zukunftsweisendes Symbol für globale Demokratie und internationale Solidarität im 21 Jahrhundert!